How to upgrade Windows Vista to Windows 7

How to upgrade Windows Vista to Windows 7
Please share with your friends...
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  

Disk Cleanup

Once you confident that your personal files, settings and applications have transferred safely through the upgrade process to Windows 7, a final and optional step is to cleanup the files discarded from the Windows Vista installation.

  1. From the Start menu, select Computer. A Windows Explorer window will be displayed.
    Windows Explorer: Local Disk (C:) Properties

    Windows Explorer: Local Disk (C:) Properties

  2. Right-click on Local Disk (C:) and select Properties from the context menu. The Local Disk (C:) Properties window will be displayed.
    Local Disk (C:) Properties

    Local Disk (C:) Properties

  3. Click Disk Cleanup. The Calculating window will be displayed.
    Calculating...

    Calculating…

    Once Disk Cleanup has finished calculating how much space you will be able to free on (C:), the Disk Cleanup for (C:) window will be displayed.

    Disk Cleanup for (C:)

    Disk Cleanup for (C:)

  4. Click Clean up system files. The Calculating window will be displayed.
    Calculating...

    Calculating…

    Once Disk Cleanup has finished calculating how much space you will be able to free on (C:), the Disk Cleanup for (C:) window will be displayed.

    Disk Cleanup for (C:)

    Disk Cleanup for (C:)

  5. From the list of Files to delete, tick the following items.
    Windows Update Cleanup Windows keeps copies of all installed updates from Windows Update, even after installing newer versions of updates. Windows Update cleanup deletes older versions of updates that are no longer needed and taking up space. (You might need to restart your computer.)
    Files discarded by Windows upgrade Files from a previous Windows installation. As a precaution, Windows upgrade keeps a copy of any files that were not moved to the new version of Windows and were not identified as Windows system files. If you are sure that no user’s personal files are missing after the upgrade, you can delete these files.
    Windows upgrade log files Windows upgrade log files contain information that can help identify and troubleshoot problems that occur during Windows installation, upgrade, or servicing. Deleting these files can make it difficult to troubleshoot installation issues.
  6. Click OK. The Are you sure you want to permanently delete these files? window will be displayed.
    Are your sure you want to permanently delete these files?

    Are your sure you want to permanently delete these files?

  7. Click Delete Files. The Cleaning up drive (C:) window will be displayed.
    Cleaning up drive (C:)

    Cleaning up drive (C:)

    Once Disk Cleanup has finished Cleaning up drive (C:), the window will automatically close. The Local Disk (C:) Properties window will be updated to reflect the new amount of Used and Free space.

    Local Disk (C:) Properties

    Local Disk (C:) Properties

  8. Click OK to close the Local Disk (C:) Properties window.

Please share with your friends...
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  

Leave a Reply